Monday, December 09, 2019
The skye times mobile

Hopes are high for the Glen Ullinish wind farm to be the first subsidy-free onshore wind development project on Skye.

Kilmac and Muirhall Energy have said they will work together to deliver the 42MW wind farm.

Angus Munro, an Ebost Crofter, said: “We’ve been working on this project for more than 10 years and it’s great to have some good news after all the challenges we have faced. Not only were we let down by the UK government in subsidies but then we were told that we didn’t qualify for an Islands Contract. On top of that, the grid operator added a further two years to the Skye connection. At times, it’s been really hard going but we’ve persevered. This wind farm will be great for Skye.

“Kilmac has been great to work with and I look forward to working with both Kilmac and Muirhall Energy to get this wind farm constructed and to see the benefit of our efforts come into this community.”

Derek Ross of Kilmac, said: “This partnership was a strategic decision by the Directors of Kilmac to guarantee the financial security needed to deliver a route to market for Glen Ullinish. It also provides us with the stability in uncertain times."

Chris Walker, Managing Director of Muirhall Energy, said: “Glen Ullinish Wind Farm has the potential to be one of the most productive onshore windfarms in the country. Muirhall Energy is delighted to offer our experience and expertise in onshore wind development in order to realise that potential.

“The opportunities associated with the building of Glen Ullinish are many, not least the commitment to local jobs, improved electricity supply and significant inward investment to Skye. We will work with all stakeholders and the network operator to resolve the challenges to the grid connection, which currently offer some jeopardy to the project.

“We look forward to building on the strong community relationships as we work to deliver the wind farm and all the benefits it will bring.”



Site created by Intermedia Services (Stornoway) Ltd © 2017